Big Changes In Snarketingville

This week marks the 8th anniversary of the first blog post I ever wrote. It was titled CYA (Count Your Assets) and had something to do with the need for marketing departments to identify and quantify their assets–sales, information, and infrastructure assets–in order to demonstrate marketing’s contributions, analyze spending patterns, and evaluate marketing’s efficiency. The post has received about 40 hits in eight years–including one this year. Woot!

It’s likely that few of you know the history of Snarketing 2.0 (as the 2nd subscriber, @dmgerbino does). It’s also likely that even fewer of you care to know, but I’m going to tell you anyway.

***

Back in December 2006, when I started blogging, the blog was called Marketing ROI, because I thought people would search on that term and find my blog. Yes, I was a clueless idiot.

After a couple of years, I renamed the blog the Marketing Tea Party, trying to evoke both the Boston tea party and the Alice in Wonderland tea party. My timing couldn’t have been worse, coming just months before “tea party” became a household once again in the US. Yes, this was a dumb ass move.

After a while, it dawned on me that I might be losing readers turned off by the political connotations (despite the lack of connection). “Screw them!” (the people who wouldn’t read my blog, not the tea partiers) was my prevailing thought, but not a good marketing decision. So, in December 2011, I renamed the site Snarketing 2.0. Not that there was ever a 1.0, but nobody wants to read anything with 1.0 in its title. Finally did something right with the blog.

***

Blogging life has been good here at Snarketing 2.0. Named #1 blog for financial services marketers by The Financial Brand in 2013. Listed as one of the 25 best marketing blogs by Radius in 2014. Good stuff. Very proud of that.

Come the new year, however, there will be some big changes here in Snarketingville. Starting January 5, 2015, Snarketing 2.0 will become a column on The Financial Brand. Snarketing 2.0 will no longer be a standalone blog.

***

At this point, you might have one or more questions like:

  • Who cares what you do with Snarketing 2.0?
  • Why would you fold your blog into The Financial Brand? and
  • What should I have for lunch?

I don’t know the answer to the last question. Or the 1st one for that matter. I’m not sure even my mother cares. Actually, I don’t think she knows that I have a blog.

***

As for the 2nd question, I might have some answers. What Jeffry Pilcher has done with The Financial Brand in the past few years is nothing short of incredible. It isn’t just the premier publication for financial services marketers, it’s becoming the premier publication for financial services. Period.

Incorporating my blog into The Financial Brand is an attempt to get in front of a wider audience, especially at a time when I have a book coming out, and am looking to increase the number of speaking engagements that I do.

***

I’d be lying if I said I didn’t have some reservations. I get to do what I want with this blog–for better and worse. I’ve got complete control over how this blog looks. Which, of course, is why moving my blog into Financial Brand is a good move, because as you can clearly see, I am clueless when it comes to site design.

And I have to admit to fears of being lost in the sauce at The Financial Brand. On this blog, I’m the big fish in the pond. Actually, I’m the only fish. It’s my pond. At The Financial Brand, I’m just another fish in the pond. I’ll be a piranha, however, so those other fish better look out.

As for editorial control or influence, I’m giving up nothing. In the discussions about the move, I recall The Financial Brand asking me to not bad-mouth the advertisers. I said “OK, as long as they don’t do or say anything stupid.” I think the response was “That seems fair.”

***

If you subscribe to this blog, thank you. I’m not sure yet how it will work, if you’ll still get notifications or the posts through email, if that’s how you get them today. I’m working with The Financial Brand to figure out how to make this as seamless as possible.

Thanks for reading. See you (soon) at The Financial Brand.

29 thoughts on “Big Changes In Snarketingville

  1. “Named #1 blog for financial services marketers by The Financial Brand in 2013” — seems like a Tech Crunch investor conspiracy.
    Thanks for writing the best content on the internet or at least the small microcosm I enjoy. Keep it up!

  2. Well you have certainly done a few things right. Congratulations. Hopefully, the subscriptions can be “transferred” over. But if not, make sure you make a post telling us how we can continue to follow you.

    cd :O)

    1. The Financial Brand will be doing everything technically possible to transfer subscriptions. Email subscribers should have no problem. RSS subscribers will likely need to synch up with a new feed. But there will be a stand-alone feed for Ron’s posts available — that much is for sure.

  3. Congratz, hope this will work out for you. Will your previous blogs still be available at TFB? I’d like to read sometimes for a different view on a specific subject as most blogs arent that original

    1. Thanks. Everything published here will be available at The Financial Brand. Well, mostly everything. Some parts of the book draw on past blog posts–those posts will be made private. But we’re talking 966 posts, total. So I’m 98% of them will be on FB.

  4. Congrats Ron but I would be lying if I didn’t admit to having a few concerns about editorial vs. advertising; sure hope you are not muzzled. Can’t wait to read your first entry that takes a FinBrand advertiser to task (because they said or did something stupid). Perhaps that will never happen, but I will continue to count on you not to hold any punches. Your fresh, honest, no holds barred approach is what separates your blog from all the noise and wannabes. Keep publishing the truth!

    Cheers!

    1. Thanks. Remember, though, that many FB advertisers are also clients (and prospects) of the company I work for. So I’m ALWAYS walking a fine line when commenting on specific firms.

    2. No one at The Financial Brand has told Ron who any of the site’s advertisers will be in 2015, nor are their plans to.

      We’ve been following along with Ron all the way back to 2006. We wouldn’t be taking Ron onboard if we didn’t know what we were getting into 😉 And there are certainly no intentions to squelch his unique approach and style.

  5. Ron
    Congrats. I know someone would gobble you up eventually…assuming it would be Jeffry at TFB. A little sad, hopefully you’ll still be available to done others if us occasionally. 🙂 I am throwing back a drink called “heaven on earth” here in Mexico to congratulate you.

    1. “someone would gobble me up”? There were no other offers, and quite frankly, I wouldn’t have entertained one had there been any. Been wanting to work w/ TFB and JP for years, and the addition of Marous to the FB team only accelerated my interest. Enjoy your vacation!

  6. One day, someone will come up with a technology that shows how even 40 hits in 8 years can be more valuable on the metrics that really count. Until then, best wishes at The Financial Brand. When FeedBurner moved to Google, it moved the “whole neighborhood, down to every last tree, beagle, and mailbox, to Google” along with its simple CAPTCHAs (http://gtm360.com/blog/2014/11/14/did-google-acquire-feedburner-minus-the-captcha/). When Snarketing 2.0 moves to The Financial Brand, I hope at least the part about it making “you laugh from time to time” moves to The Financial Brand – apart from my email subscription, that is. Happy Holidays. Ciao for now and see you back on TFB.

    1. Thanks. One of the things that has most amazed me about doing this blog, and that I’m really the most proud of, is the fact that so many smart people leave their comments–and even more importantly, disagree with me and others in a civilized, productive manner. You’re a huge part of that, Ketharaman. Thanks.

    1. The TV show will be called “Doods” for “Dads Of Only Daughters” and will be about the travails of a man living with a wife and daughters. Will be the funniest sitcom ever created. OK, 2nd funniest after Seinfeld.

  7. I’ve known Ron a long time now. That happens when you are the 2nd subscriber. I am looking forward to this combination of The Financial Brand and Ron Shevlin. My blog reading may ebb and flow but two of the blogs that I read without fail have disappeared this year. Thankfully they write for The FInancial Brand. Jim Marous and Ron Shevlin are awesome additions to Jeffry Pilcher’s masterpiece.

    I am truly looking forward to an awesome 2015 on The Financial Brand and reading the works of Jeffry, Jim and Ron.

Leave a Reply

